Review | The Conspiracy of Us by Maggie Hall

Posted October 19, 2016 by Tina in Reviews / 2 Comments

Review | The Conspiracy of Us by Maggie HallThe Conspiracy of Us (The Conspiracy of Us, #1) by Maggie Hall
Published by Putnam Juvenile on January 13th 2015
Genres: Mystery, Thriller, Young Adult
Pages: 330
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
4 Stars

A fast-paced international escapade, laced with adrenaline, glamour, and romance--perfect for fans of Ally Carter
Avery West's newfound family can shut down Prada when they want to shop in peace, and can just as easily order a bombing when they want to start a war. Part of a powerful and dangerous secret society called the Circle, they believe Avery is the key to an ancient prophecy. Some want to use her as a pawn. Some want her dead.

To unravel the mystery putting her life in danger, Avery must follow a trail of clues from the monuments of Paris to the back alleys of Istanbul with two boys who work for the Circle—beautiful, volatile Stellan and mysterious, magnetic Jack. But as the clues expose a stunning conspiracy that might plunge the world into World War 3, she discovers that both boys are hiding secrets of their own. Now she will have to choose not only between freedom and family--but between the boy who might help her save the world, and the one she's falling in love with.

The Conspiracy Of Us is a book that requested because the title really caught my attention. Then I started seeing this book on Lainey’s Youtube channel and knew I needed to pick up.

I’ve noticed this trend where I can’t really listen to fantasy, mystery, and thrillers, sci-fi I enjoy reading them rather than listening to them. The Conspiracy Of Us was a book I was sent but I decided to listen to the audio and I’m really glad I did.

Let me tell this was a ride! This was action packed and it was only dull the first couple chapters but after that it really picked up. It had a little bit of everything, action, mystery, romance and a bit of a thriller.

I went into this book not knowing too much about it only that Lainey really enjoyed it. I’ve noticed we share some similar tastes so I figured I should give this a try and go in blind like she recommends. Honestly, the main thing I knew about this book is that the cover is beautiful. I mean look at that cover.

The storyline was definitely original and I definitely got a Da Vinci Code vibe from the story so I didn’t exactly know what to expect or where things were headed.

I will admit that if I hadn’t listening to the book and had actual read it, I probably would’ve set it aside after the first couple chapters. The first chapters were kind of slow and I remember thinking what is going on here but it picks up after that. I couldn’t stop listening to after that and I found myself getting more and more immersed into the story.

The narrator was absolutely amazing and I would totally listen to more books narrated by Julia Whelan.

4 Stars